Wayne Escoffery – Like Minds CD


1. Like Minds
2. Nostalgia in Times Square
3. Sincerely Yours
4. My Truth (feat. Gregory Porter)
5. Rivers of Babylon (feat. Gregory Porter)
6. Song of Serenity
7. Treasure Lane
8. Idle Moments
9. Shuffle

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-2303-CD Category:

CD in 8-panel Digipak Album with liner notes by Chris Pearson and photography by Jimmy and Dena Katz.

Saxophonist/composer WAYNE ESCOFFERY celebrates the chemistry shared by his closest musical collaborators on LIKE MINDS featuring special guests Gregory Porter, Tom Harrell, Mike Moreno, and Daniel Sadownick who join Escoffery’s acclaimed quartet with David Kikoski, Ugonna Okegwo, and Mark Whitfield, Jr.

These musicians may approach music with a similar mindset, but all arrived from very different places. Escoffery grew up in London, England, moving often throughout his adolescence before settling in Connecticut, where he studied with the legendary saxophonist Jackie McLean. He teaches there now at Yale University, where his mother worked in an administrative position, as well as at NJPAC in New Jersey. A Grammy Award and DownBeat Critics’ Poll winner, he is one of the musical directors of The Mingus Big Band and has performed with a who’s who of jazz including Herbie Hancock, Tom Harrell, Ron Carter, Ben Riley, Al Foster, Monty Alexander, Eddie Henderson, Wallace Roney, and others.”

“I wanted to explore the deep connections that we all share,” Escoffery explains. “All of these musicians are important parts of my musical development, and everyone on the album was chosen specifically for their sound and for what I knew they would add. I don’t think anyone else could play this music quite like they do.”

released on April 14, 2023

Wayne Escoffery – tenor & soprano saxophone
David Kikoski – piano & Fender Rhodes
Ugonna Okegwo – bass
Mark Whitfield Jr. – drums

Special guests:
Gregory Porter – vocals (tracks 4 & 5)
Tom Harrell – trumpet (tracks 2 & 4)
Mike Moreno – guitar (tracks 1, 3, 8 & 9)
Daniel Sadownick – percussion (track 5)

Recorded Live March 31, 2022
at Sear Sound Studio, New York City

Produced by Paul Stache & Damon Smith
Recording, Mixing & Mastering Engineer: Chris Allen
Photography: Jimmy & Dena Katz
Wayne Escoffery is a D’Addario Artist & endorses AMT Microphones
Gregory Porter appears courtesy of Universal Music France
Tom Harrell & David Kikoski appear courtesy of HighNote Records

Executive Producers: Paul Stache & Molly Johnson

Weight 0.33 lbs