Harold Mabern – Afro Blue CD


1. The Chief
2. Afro Blue (feat. Gregory Porter)
3. The Man From Hyde Park (feat. Gregory Porter)
4. Fools Rush In (feat. Norah Jones)
5. Don’t Misunderstand (feat. Norah Jones)
6. I’ll Take Romance (feat. Jane Monheit)
7. My One and Only Love (feat. Jane Monheit)
8. Billie’s Bounce (feat. Kurt Elling)
9. Portrait of Jennie (feat. Kurt Elling)
10. You Needed Me (feat. Kurt Elling)
11. Such Is Life (feat. Alexis Cole)
12. Do It Again (feat. Peter Bernstein)
13. Mozzin’
14. Bobby, Benny, Jymie, Lee, Bu

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-1503-CD Category:

8-panel Digipak Album

AFRO BLUE, Harold Mabern’s second release for Smoke Sessions, features the pianist paired with five distinctive guest vocalists: Gregory Porter, Norah Jones, Jane Monheit, Kurt Elling, and Alexis Cole. Mabern provides sensitive and supportive playing behind these incredible singers, and the resulting chemistry makes these songs special. “I love vocalists. I love to play for singers because that’s really how you learn how to play the piano jazz-wise. They go through every aspect of music— changing keys, slow tempos to fast, playing rubato, playing verses, all of the Great American Songbook—that’s really how you learn how to play,” says Mabern.

There is a world of music, and there are a lot of memorable performances on AFRO BLUE, but Mabern’s soulful, blues-driven style is the constant highlight. He is joined by a stellar supporting cast—Jeremy Pelt, Eric Alexander, and Steve Turre form a killer horn section, while John
Webber and Joe Farnsworth complete his reliable rhythm team. Guitarist Peter Bernstein also makes a special appearance on Steely Dan’s “Do It Again.” Mabern adds, “I’ll tell you, it was really the most difficult thing I’ve ever done. It was definitely a challenge, but I think we pulled it off. I’m quite pleased with it, you know.”
released April 14, 2015

Harold Mabern – piano
John Webber – bass (except 5)
Joe Farnsworth – drums (except 5)

Gregory Porter – vocals (tracks 2 & 3)
Norah Jones – vocals (tracks 4 & 5)
Jane Monheit – vocals (tracks 6 & 7)
Kurt Elling – vocals (tracks 8, 9 & 10)
Alexis Cole – vocals (track 11)

Peter Bernstein – guitar on “Do It Again”

Jeremy Pelt – trumpet (tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 8 & 11)
Steve Turre – trombone (tracks 2, 4, 6 & 11)
Eric Alexander – tenor saxophone (except 5, 12, 13 & 14)

Recorded Live August 21 & 29, 2014
at Sear Sound, Studio C, New York City

Produced by Paul Stache
Associate Producer: Damon Smith
Recorded & Mastered by Roman Klun
Studio Assistants: Ted Tuthill & Grant Valentine
Mixed by Roman Klun & Paul Stache
Photography by Jimmy Katz
Design by Damon Smith & Paul Stache

Gregory Porter appears courtesy of Universal Music France
Norah Jones appears courtesy of Blue Note Records
Kurt Elling appears courtesy of Concord Jazz Records
Jeremy Pelt appears courtesy of High Note Records
Eric Alexander appears courtesy of High Note Records

Executive Producers: Frank Christopher & Paul Stache
Executive Producers: Frank Christopher & Paul Stache

Weight 0.33 lbs