Steve Turre – The Very Thought of You CD


1. The Very Thought of You
2. September in the Rain
3. No Regrets
4. Carolyn (In the Morning)
5. Never Let Me Go
6. Sachiko
7. Freedom Park, SA
8. The Shadow of Your Smile
9. Time Will Tell
10. Yardbird Suite
11. Danny Boy

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-1804-CD Category:

8-panel Digipak Album

“Turre still brandishes plenty of chops on his new, mostly ballads disc, THE VERY THOUGHT THE THOUGHT OF YOU, but the feel is decidedly more mellow. It’s an impressive change of course for the trombonist, and equally exciting for listeners.”
— Brian Zimmerman, Jazziz

“When the music calls for it, the eminent trombonist (and seemingly singular jazz-conch-shell player) Steve Turre instinctively responds with a nasty-edged spark that cements his reputation as a master of Latin-tinged hard bop. Yet his warm and fuzzy side—displayed on the ballad-heavy album THE VERY THOUGHT OF YOU from last year—is equally compelling.”
— Steve Futterman, The New Yorker

“Few artists “own” their instrument to the degree that trombonist Steve Turre does. Whether playing the music of Rahsaan Roland Kirk, performing as a member of the Saturday Night Live house band or with one of his own units, his voice is distinctive and memorable.”
— James Hale, Downbeat

#1 JazzWeek jazz radio chart


One of the most energetic and visceral voices in jazz, trombone master Steve Turre delivers a surprising set of (mostly) lush ballads accompanied by a superb all-star band and inspiring strings. Backed by pianist Kenny Barron, bassist Buster Williams and drummer Willie Jones III, Turre welcomes special guests George Coleman for two songs on tenor saxophone and Russell Malone for four songs on guitar. A string octet, arranged and conducted by Marty Sheller, adds an almost indescribable beauty to four tracks. This album–with two NEA Jazz Masters, string octet, classic ballads and soulful guitar is truly a historical recording and brings out the very best from the incomparable Steve Turre.

released August 24, 2018

Steve Turre – trombone
Kenny Barron – piano
Buster Williams – bass
Willie Jones III – drums

George Coleman – tenor saxophone (tracks 5 & 10)
Russell Malone – guitar (tracks 2, 3, 8 & 11)

STRING OCTET (tracks 1, 5, 8 & 11)
Marty Sheller – arranger & conductor
Randall Goosby – violin
Valerie Kim – violin
Brendan Elliot – violin
Meng Jia Lin – violin
Chloé Thominet – viola
Jasper Snow – viola
Khari Joyner – cello
Marza Wilks – cello

Recorded Live on January 24, 2018
at Sear Sound Studio C, New York

Produced by Paul Stache
Associate Producer: Damon Smith
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered by Christopher Allen
Studio Assistant: Owen Mulholland
Photography by John Abbott
Liner Notes by Phillip Lutz
Design by Damon Smith and Paul Stache

Kenny Barron appears courtesy of Impulse!
Russell Malone appears courtesy of High Note Records

Executive Producers: Frank Christopher & Paul Stache

Weight 0.33 lbs