Orrin Evans – The Red Door CD


1. The Red Door
2. Weezy
3. Phoebe’s Stroll
4. The Good Life
5. Big Small
6. Dexter’s Tune
7. Amazing Grace
8. Feed the Fire
9. All The Things You Are
10. Smoke Rings
11. They Won’t Go When I Go
12. I Have the Feeling I’ve Been Here Before

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-2305-CD Category:

CD in 8-panel digipak featuring liner notes by Ethan Iverson and photography by Christopher Kayfield. Also includes digital download of entire album.

What’s behind The Red Door? For pianist Orrin Evans, that question has come to symbolize the daring path his life and music have taken over the course of his three-decade career for taking musical and personal chances. On this latest album, he once again flings that door open, delighting in the collaborators, friends, inspiration, and history that he finds inside.

Evans convenes a truly all-star affair featuring Nicholas Payton, Gary Thomas, Robert Hurst, Marvin “Smitty” Smith, with special appearances Buster Williams, Larry McKenna, Gene Jackson, the late great Wallace Roney, as well as guest vocalists Jazzmeia Horn, Sy Smith, and Alita Moses.

The musicians with whom he collaborates may not always know what to expect when they walk into an Orrin Evans studio date, but he flings that red door open for them. Now it’s the listeners’ turn to enter.

Orrin Evans, piano
Nicholas Payton, trumpet (1, 2, 5, 10)
Gary Thomas, tenor saxophone (1, 5, 10) & flute (2)
Robert Hurst, bass (1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12)
Marvin “Smitty” Smith, drums (1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12)

Wallace Roney, trumpet (9)
Larry McKenna, tenor saxophone (4)
Buster Williams, bass (4 & 9)
Gene Jackson, drums (4 & 9)
w/Jazzmeia Horn (5); Sy Smith (7) & Alita Moses (11)

Recorded on December 12, 2022 at Sear Sound Studio C, NYC
Engineered by Chris Allen
Assisted by Steven Sacco

“They Won’t Go When I Go”
Recorded on November 17, 2021 at Yamaha Artist Studios, NYC
Engineered by Aaron Cross

“The Good Life” and “All the Things You Are”
Recorded on March 11, 2020
at Morningstar Studios in Ambler, Pennsylvania
Engineered by Katsuhiko Naito

Produced by Paul Stache & Damon Smith
Mixing & Mastering by Chris Allen
Photography by Christopher Kayfield

Orrin Evans is a Yamaha Artist

Executive Producers: Paul Stache & Molly Johnson

Weight 0.33 lbs