Orrin Evans – Liberation Blues CD


1. Devil Eyes
2. Juanita
3. A Lil’ D.A.B. a do Ya
4. A Free Man?
5. Liberation Blues
6. Simply Green
7. Anysha
8. Meant to Shine
9. Mumbo Jumbo
10. How High the Moon
11. The Theme
12. The Night Has a Thousand Eyes

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-1409-CD Category:

8-panel Digipak Album

“What a great CD [LIBERATION BLUES] with which to start a new year! Every Evans recording seems so fresh. Each of his groups has a character of its own. This particular line-up, recorded live at Smoke, is outstanding… Harmonically and rhythmically, he is always so adventurous. Recommended.”
Tony Hall, Jazzwise, February 2015

“Mr. Evans, a Philadelphia-based pianist, makes a minefield out of the typical postbop form — impishly twisting up a song’s flow or washing out the harmonies with big, dissonant chords. LIBERATION BLUES, the 2014 album he recorded live at Smoke, is a master class in outside-the-box bluesiness and ear-catching contemporary composition.”
— Giovanni Russonello, The New York Times, 13 July 2017

Orrin Evans–pianist, bandleader, and notorious musical catalyst–delivers LIBERATION BLUES an album brimming with music and ideas. It is the debut of one of his most impressive projects yet, a new quintet lineup that includes Sean Jones, JD Allen, Luques Curtis, and Bill Stewart.

The recording, made live at Smoke Jazz Club in New York City, occurred immediately following the tragic passing of bassist Dwayne Burno, and the opening selections comprise the “Liberation Blues Suite” dedicated to his memory. Orrin explains, “In my eyes, Burno is now a “Free Man”…. but with that freedom, we’ve lost a great man right here on earth. So, there’s still a blues we feel missing our brother and friend.” Simply put, the playing is inspired. Sean Jones and JD Allen are a brilliant pairing and it is hard to miss Bill Stewart’s presence. Orrin says, “Let me do something that people wouldn’t expect, somethin’ that I wouldn’t even expect. Listen…now is the time for Bill Stewart.” After mining the compositions of Paul Motian, Trudy Pitts, Miles Davis, and, of course, Orrin Evans, the night concludes with a memorable encore visit from Philadelphia vocalist Joanna Pascale for a sultry version of “The Night has a Thousand Eyes.”

released August 12, 2014

Sean Jones – trumpet*
JD Allen – tenor saxophone**
Orrin Evans – piano
Luques Curtis – bass
Bill Stewart – drums
Joanna Pascale – vocals***

*except on tracks 7, 10, 11 & 12
**except on tracks 10, 11 & 12
***on track 12 only

Recorded Live January 10 & 11, 2014
at Smoke Jazz Club, New York City

Recorded & Produced by Paul Stache
Mixed by Roman Klun & Paul Stache
Mastered by Roman Klun
Photography by Jimmy Katz
Design & Product Management by Damon Smith
Piano provided by Steinway & Sons

Sean Jones appears courtesy of Mack Avenue Records
JD Allen appears courtesy of High Note Records
Luques Curtis appears courtesy of Truth Revolution Records

Executive Producers: Frank Christopher & Paul Stache

Weight 0.33 lbs