One for All – The Third Decade CD


1. Easy
2. Buddy’s
3. It’s Easy to Remember
4. Daylight
5. Ghost Ride
6. For Curtis
7. Ruth
8. Babataytay
9. K-Ray
10. Frenzy
11. Hey, Stevie-D

$ 10.00

In stock

SKU: SSR-1605-CD Category:

8-panel Digipak Album

“Indeed on the cusp of starting their third decade together as a band, this fittingly titled set brings into focus all of the best qualities of these gentlemen, including their composing talents and singular musical voices. It also happens to be their first new release in five years.”
– C. Andrew Hovan, All About Jazz

“Pledging allegiance to hard bop in all its durable glory, the members of this collective sextet, which includes the saxophonist Eric Alexander and the trombonist Steve Davis, have been together for nearly twenty years, fulfilling a need for slamming, unpretentious jazz which is in little danger of disappearing.”
– Steve Futterman, The New Yorker

“These are gifted soloists and seasoned ensemble players who bring clarity to each arrangement, fire, and dynamism to every solo exchange.”
– David R. Adler, JazzTimes

At a time when jazz bandleaders from across the musical and generational spectrums regularly lament the difficulty of keeping a band together, it’s all the more remarkable that a supergroup like One For All has stuck it out for twenty years. But this impeccably swinging sextet, made up of some of the most in-demand players in modern jazz, is not just celebrating past achievements but charging forward into the future. Their new recording, THE THIRD DECADE, marks the dawn of the band’s next chapter.

Their 16th release, THE THIRD DECADE, is their first in five years and the first in its history to feature original compositions by all six members. The Third Decade, due out June 3 via Smoke Sessions Records, brings together once again tenor saxophonist Eric Alexander, trumpeter Jim Rotondi, trombonist Steve Davis, pianist David Hazeltine, bassist John Webber, and drummer Joe Farnsworth. As always, the fiery and soulful musicianship is only matched by the warmth and spirit that results from a lifetime of musical friendships.

released June 3, 2016

Jim Rotondi – trumpet & flugelhorn
Eric Alexander – tenor saxophone
Steve Davis – trombone
David Hazeltine – piano
John Webber – bass
Joe Farnsworth – drums

David Wakefield – French horn on “Ghost Ride”

Recorded Live October 20, 2016 at Sear Sound, Studio C, New York City

Produced by Paul Stache
Associate Producer: Damon Smith
Recorded and Mastered by Roman Klun
Studio Assistant: Grant Valentine
Mixed by Roman Klun & Paul Stache
Mastered by Roman Klun
Liner Notes by Neil Tesser
Photography by John Abbott
Design by Damon Smith & Paul Stache

French horn on “Ghost Ride” by David Wakefield

Eric Alexander appears courtesy of High Note Records

Executive Producers: Frank Christopher & Paul Stache

Weight 0.33 lbs